HawthorneVillager.com

Hawthorne Village (Milton) Discussion Board
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 9:00 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 640 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 43  Next
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:18 pm 

I thought I would start an official hardwood flooring thread, since there are many people always asking about hardwood flooring advice.

Since I have extensive knowledge on the topic (we do this for a living :wink: ), just ask away if you have any specific questions regarding hardwood floors, etc.

Thanks
:D

Last edited by patrob on Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:49 am, edited 7 times in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:19 pm 

Should I upgrade my stairs to hardwood with the builder or can I wait until after closing to save $$$?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:43 pm 

rrknight wrote:
Should I upgrade my stairs to hardwood with the builder or can I wait until after closing to save $$$?

Generally it's better to go with the builder. But also depends what the builder is charging you.... But you do avoid all the mess & inconvenience that comes with this type of job.

It's not cheap to change over the stairs later to wood, there is quite a lot of labour involved. Depending on the type of stairs, the cost could be anywhere from $150 to $200 or more per step & usually does not include any staining or varnish. Unless you can do the job yourself, then it will be cheaper.

Hope this helps :wink:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 2:56 am 

what kind of maintenance is needed for hardwood?

wheres a cheap place to get bamboo hardwood?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:08 am 

cmartinez wrote:
what kind of maintenance is needed for hardwood?

wheres a cheap place to get bamboo hardwood?

Swiffer or vacuum, occasional wipe it with slightly damp cloth. But the best thing is to get a hardwood flooring cleaning kit that comes with mop & spray.